001 Welcom to Grey Meadow Island

Grey Meadow Island; it was full of old houses, and grand community lots. The industrial plant sent out a plume of gray smoke, but that must be just a twist of irony on the city’s part. All the houses were quiet and eerily dark, and very few people were out and about. This was a very different place than Sunset Valley, but no one said going out on your own was easy, or as nice as Disneyland. Winter Ravenwood watched out the taxi window as they drove through the dark town.

Screenshot

My taxi pulled up to the empty lot that would now be my home. Cautiously I stepped out of the cab and was instantly in thought. What could I build onto this land that served my needs and I would be able to stand to look at as I earned money to make a proper home?

“Where do you want this bag, Hun?”  The taxi driver spoke kindly as I was ripped from my thoughts; quickly I shook my head to clear my mind.

It was sweet of the taxi driver to get my bag as I zoned out of the real world, “Just set it here, the contractors should be here any minute now.”  With that, I paid the nice old man and sat on the sidewalk.

Luckily, I didn’t have to wait long before they showed up with some simple and cheap blueprints, and after going through a few choices and quite a bit more money than I should have spent, I had an adorable little house to call my own. Not being much of a full house, though what with only being a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen; but what did it matter? I didn’t know anyone yet and still had to see if I could land a job at the hospital. With (hopefully) a job, and so much to get used to, I didn’t think I would need a proper home yet anyhow.

Screenshot-3a

Stepping into the new house and putting away my clothes felt odd at first, but soon I began to enjoy the layout of my home. That was until my stomach rumbled and I realized I had very little money for dinner. I did not give up yet, instead, I excitedly ate my first meal in my new home, even if it was a bowl of cereal.

After I ate and washed my dishes, I decided that I had a long day ahead of me. So I pulled on my comfy pajamas and crawled into bed to dream about the wonders that awaited me in the morning.

Screenshot-4a
That morning when I awoke, I decided to just sit and take in my new surroundings. This was what I would be waking up to from now on, and so far I liked it very much. It was a peaceful way to wake up, to see the huge old house across the street… ‘I wonder if anyone will ever move into that place.’ My thoughts drifted as morning light began to drift in through the large windows in the corner of my bed/living room.

Screenshot-11

I got up and took a shower, then got a bowl of cereal to start my day. I was as ready is I felt I could be to land a job at the hospital. After cleaning up my dishes I called up a taxi to drive me around town.

The town was still dark and gloomy, and there was still barely anyone out. I was beginning to wonder if I would find anyone in the hospital to give me a job. Passing one of the city parks was depressing, only one child was playing on the playground, his little legs dangling over one side of the swing’s seat as his head hung over the other side. ‘Why was this town so quite in the middle of the day like this?’

Finally, we arrived at the hospital and I went in with high hopes.

Screenshot-13a

I was happy to have gotten the job, well more like I was so overjoyed that the taxi driver that drove me home wanted to charge me more for not shutting up about it. Once I got home, I began to realize just how happy they were to have someone to work the day shift hours. Not to mention just how empty it was in the building. Now I was really starting to wonder what I had gotten myself into by moving here. I ate a salad for supper and went to bed, only to toss and turn all night.

About AliciaRain

I was born in '89 and have been addicted to Sims from "The Sims" days. I have always loved writing, and more than likely always will. I am very scatter brained, so sometimes I will need a push in the right direction to get a post out. But more than likely it is because I am having issues with the game, or lost in reading that I forget about a post. I tend to have a day here and there that I go a little download happy... and gotta go through them because of malfunctions. I am proud to call myself a NERD!!! I got the glasses and bun held by a pencil to prove it. But I am also very easy going, and love to chill with friends. If you ever just wanna geek out or want me to check out your site or something just drop me a comment or message me.
This entry was posted in Winter Ravenwood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 001 Welcom to Grey Meadow Island

  1. yimiki says:

    Spooky little town, with no-one there during the day. Makes me wonder if they are all vampires, or something. 0.o

    Hi there! I just found your blog today, and it seems interesting! If you’ll allow me, I’m off to read the whole thing now. ^^

    -Yimi

    Like

    • AliciaRain says:

      OH I’m super excited to have a new reader, and one that comments too! Yay!!!

      And if I’m not mistaken I think I already follow your work (but sadly have not finished reading, I’ll have to start that up again.) I love what I have read so far though and hope that you like mine ad well because I think your story is more intriguing than my own.

      However we are always our own worst critic.

      Like

  2. Rose Eaton says:

    OOOOH it’s spooky and I love it! Winter is such a pretty name, I’d never have thought to use it and the mysterious house is exciting too. So many questions… Guess I’d better keep reading!

    Rose x (sneaky in the forums)

    Like

  3. wickedjr89 says:

    I love the shot of the town, and great start! Can’t wait to continue reading and see what happens! 🙂

    Like

  4. lovesstorms says:

    I also like the shot of the town. 🙂 I was going along ok with just a minor question about the town until you hit the child on the swing. I got a small chill from that. Great job!! On to read another chapter. 🙂

    Like

  5. I like the overshot of the town. It’s good to get an idea of the whole setting. 🙂

    Like

  6. Don’t know why I haven’t seen this story before! Really like your beginning! Wonder why people don’t like going out during the day. . .

    Like

  7. sErindeppity says:

    Loved this, glad she has a cute little house. But then the part with the kid on the swing and how quiet the town was gave me the creeps. It felt a bit like Twilight Zone. Seemingly normal and then a hint of something creepy coming? If that makes sense? It makes me so excited to find out more! 😀

    Like

    • AliciaRain says:

      Glad I was able to get that creepy vibe going in the right direction.

      Like

      • sErindeppity says:

        You were! I wasn’t expecting it, it wasn’t too much nor was it too subtle that I didn’t see it. I really like the way you did that, it drew me in very quickly!

        Like

        • AliciaRain says:

          Thank you, I was a little worried that I blew it on the first chapter, but I think everyone feels that way.
          P.S. your fist chapter was awesome by the way, I don’t think you need to change it. It was a very questioning start. It made you want to find out “why” about so many things. (trying not to spoil it for others who have not read it yet)

          Like

  8. amandralynn says:

    Great first start! I like your writing style, very easy to read. Going to head to the next chapter now 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts on today's post?

